PUBLIC LANDS.

Dominion Lands.—The crown lands of the Dominion of Canada are situated in the Prairie Provinces, in the Dominion Railway Belt of British Columbia, and in a block in northern British Columbia, containing 3,500,000 acres known as the "Peace River Block". All lands within 15 miles of a railway are reserved for soldier settlement; other lands are offered in free grants as homesteads for settlers. Every person who is the sole head of a family and every male who has attained the age of eighteen years and is a British subject or declares intention to become a British subject, is entitled to apply for entry for a homestead. The lands are laid out in townships of 36 sections. Each section contains 640 acres and is divided into quarter-sections of 160 acres. A quarter section of 160 acres may be obtained as a homestead on payment of an entry fee of \$10 and fulfilment of certain conditions of residence and cultivation. To qualify for the issue of the patent a settler must have resided upon his homestead for at least six months in each of three years, must have erected a habitable house thereon, must have at least 30 acres of his holding broken, of which 20 acres must be cropped. A reduction may be made in the area of breaking where the land is difficult to cultivate on account of scrub or stone. Provision is made for residence in the vicinity on certain conditions, in which case the area of cultivation must be increased.

Disposal of Dominion Lands in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta.—According to figures supplied by the Department of the Interior, a total area of 120,894,407 acres, equal to 5,247 townships, or 188,897 square miles, has been alienated from the Crown. The total number of acres surveyed to January 1, 1920, was 199,757,-264, of which 24,952,300 acres were available for homestead entry. Table 6 shows the distribution of the surveyed area for each of the three Prairie Provinces, as at January 1, 1920.

In addition to the surveyed area, there are large tracts of land in the northern parts of these provinces, which have, as yet, been explored only in a very partial way. The total area of this unsurveyed tract is 285,885,434 acres, of which 22,405,020 acres are water-covered. Pamphlets on the resources and developments of the various provinces of Canada have been issued by the Natural Resources Intelligence Branch of the Department of the Interior, some of which are as follows: The new mining district of Manitoba, the Peace River district of Alberta; oil and gas in Western Canada; the province of Saskatchewan; the province of Nova Scotia; the province of New Brunswick; Central British Columbia and a statistical compilation on the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. This Branch also publishes lists with the names and addresses of the owners of unoccupied and uncultivated lands in the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, being lands which are not cultivated because the owners are either non-resident or are not interested in farming.